Oh Bakewell Tart!

Hi everyone,

Enjoying my bakewell tart with my mum--having recreated our food heaven in Singapore:)

Enjoying my bakewell tart with my mum–having recreated our food heaven in Singapore:)

When I first tasted Bakewell tart in the UK, I fell in love with it and had to grab a notebook to write a poem. It was a dessert that both my mum and I enjoyed together in the comforts of our cozy room as she was recovering from her sudden heart attack. I remember  the mutual glowing smile that we exchanged with one another as the tart melted in our mouths.

So when I arrived in Singapore and my mum told me of her cravings for bakewell tart, I knew that I had to make this tart.

Glad I finally got to make my own version of it at home.This is not exactly a tart that is round with a thick crust but it contains the elements of a Bakewell tart with buttery pastry, ground almonds, the delicious frangipane as well as raspberry jam.

It tasted absolutely divine.

But most of all, it was the sharing of the tart with my family as we sipped on masala chai, that made my Sunday simply too sweet.

Here is a poem that I constructed for one of the loves of my life–Bakewell Tart.


“Oh Bakewell tart–my perfect love

My tastebuds have blissfully treaded through many deserts
But I have to say that when i met you,
I think I fell into quicksand :
a lil’ far too deep to get out of.

Luscious ground almonds and moist golden granules of sand pulling me down,
sensationally sticky raspberry jam that makes me stuck in sweet surrender.
And how could I forget your crisp buttery crust–
one crunch of it and I think I have become complete.

No Chocolate, no Tiramisu, no Cheesecake, no Brownie, no caramelpecanbutterscotchcookiecupcakemuffinice- creamanything
But You, My Dearest Bakewell Tart.
I think I’ve finally fallen in love.
You are my Perfect Love.”

(Written on 8 Nov 2013)


Getting the lovely ingredients together! The only time I actually go shopping is before I cook.

Getting the lovely ingredients together! The only time I actually go shopping is before I cook.

Crushing whole almonds until they are slightly coarse but not too fine. Hard work translates into delicious food.

Crushing whole almonds until they are slightly coarse but not too fine. Hard work translates into delicious food.

Folding in the crushed almonds and semolina flour into the creamed mixture.

Folding in the crushed almonds and semolina flour into the creamed mixture.

Spreading the raspberry jam onto the already 3/4 baked base.

Spreading the raspberry jam onto the already 3/4 baked base.

Next comes the tastiest mixture ever made on top of the raspberry jam. Using brown sugar instead of refined sugar, makes a large difference. The tart tastes more caramelized.

Next comes the tastiest mixture ever made on top of the raspberry jam. Using brown sugar instead of refined sugar, makes a large difference. The tart tastes more caramelized.

Freshly baked out of the oven and sliced. Now, some tea would make this complete.

Freshly baked out of the oven and sliced. Now, some tea would make this complete.

bakewell_7

Look at that beautiful slice!

If anyone would like my personal recipe of this tart–with detailed instructions, do comment and I will e-mail you the recipe! Be careful though. You might just fall into a love affair with this dessert.

Cheers,

thedailycognitive

7 thoughts on “Oh Bakewell Tart!

  1. Hello Ysabel Klara,
    This looks delicious. Would you mind sharing the recipe for this and the lavender cookie? Thank you!
    ~ Gopi

    Like

Leave a Reply

