Lavender shortbread cookies

lav_9

Hi all,

What is it about shortbread cookies that make my tastebuds tingle? Those beautiful buttery nuggets of pleasure.

Having spent a year in England and returning to Singapore, I felt like baking something that reminded me of the lovely moments that I had shared with friends in England. Something that would help me to re-enact those lovely conversations over civilized and uncivilized sessions of sipping tea.

Since I had dried lavender in my fridge, I decided to infuse it into the shortbread. Well, I also added chocolate rice into the cookies so that the sweetness of the chocolate would balance out the strong scent of lavender.

Here are a couple of photos documenting the process! I had a completely enjoyable and sensory experience working on the dough as the lovely smell of lavender permeated the corners of my kitchen, enwrapping me in a warm, purple glow.

Icing sugar and dried lavender

Icing sugar and dried lavender

Time to incorporate the lavender into the icing sugar with a mortar and pestle

Time to incorporate the lavender into the icing sugar with a mortar and pestle

Infusing the lavender sugar into the slightly molten butter

Infusing the lavender sugar into the slightly molten butter

Fold in the chocolate rice into the batter

Fold in the chocolate rice into the batter

After rolling my dough into a cylinder, I placed it in the fridge for about an hour minimum. Take it out thereafter and neatly slice the dough into even rounds.

After rolling my dough into a cylinder, I placed it in the fridge for about an hour minimum. Take it out thereafter and neatly slice the dough into even rounds.

Into the oven they go

Into the oven they go

Beautiful shortbread cookies are out!

Beautiful shortbread cookies are out!

Would gladly have this with a nice cup of milk tea. Anyone care to join me?:D

Would gladly have this with a nice cup of milk tea. Anyone care to join me?:D


There you have it! Lavender chocolate chip shortbread rounds!!

Hope you enjoyed my sharing of this experience with you. If anyone would like this recipe, feel free to comment or drop me a request via e-mail at:

ysabelklara@gmail.com

Cheers and I urge you to either bake some shortbread or enjoy some buttery shortbread with a cup of tea or with a glass of cold milk for supper. It never fails to uplift my spirits.

Love,

thedailycognitive

 

2 thoughts on “Lavender shortbread cookies

    • hmmmmm. Yeah. Lavender can be quite tricky. Perhaps you can add a faint dash of it..
      I particularly used chocolate to balance it out. Besides, I like the taste of lavender so it wasn’t a problem for me but some people might think the taste reminds them of soap or perfume haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

