Wasabi Love

A painting by Irene Hardwicke Olivieri

A painting by Irene Hardwicke Olivieri

Wasabi Love?

It is the kind of love that stings yet sends thrills up your spine–a worthwhile experience.

For those of you who might not know, ‘wasabi’ is a root vegetable known in English as the Japanese horseradish.  Is Love like a root in your life?  Fundamental, necessary and a fertile foundation that encourages the production of other morals and values?

I don’t know how you feel about love but I believe that the giving and receiving of love is a natural instinct of man.  Communities fail to be held together when they are devoid of the bonds of love.

Life cannot be borne without love.  And adversity cannot be overcome without love. Yes, even overcoming adversity requires the love of wanting to cherish what comes after trials.

Now, back to that root vegetable named Wasabi.

Wasabi is most famous in its grated form as a green paste that has a strong and hot flavour which dissipates in a few seconds. Perhaps like a pickle, but with the additional element of searing heat that might make you feel as if your mind is on fire—on the verge of explosion.

Strong. Hot. Searing heat. Explosive. Ouch, those traits sound painful. If I recall correctly, love can be pretty painful too. There is a saying that the people you love the most, hurt you the most.

I agree.

Friends have told me that I should learn to love with absolutely no expectations and maybe then, I would not get hurt. Perhaps that is the ideal way of loving but one cannot deny that being human involves at least some element of expectation when it comes to love.

For example, when I present an inspirational book to my sister out of love, I might not expect her to gift me with a book in return but, I might expect her to read that book and take in the encouraging content as I would want for her to feel uplifted in some way. I am still expecting!

Although loving might be easy at first, ensuring the sustainability of that love in the long run, can be incredibly challenging. But, giving up loving simply because it is challenging, is like avoiding dialysis when you have kidney failure—a dumb decision.

The Ancient Greeks identified four forms of love—kinship, friendship, romantic desire and divine love. Modern authors and philosophers have invested much time in trying to categorize the different dimensions of love.

Why is it so difficult to stick to one definition of Love?

That is because love has great depth and breadth and is a spectrum of colours. How can one love another with deep red passion and yet be simmering all green with envy towards the same person? Love is a freaking kaleidoscope of colours.

Love is bittersweet. It is like the experience of tasting wasabi.

Painfully pleasant– Wasabi Love.

Love,

thedailycognitive

(16th November 2014)

2 thoughts on “Wasabi Love

  1. I still remember the first time I ate wasabi. I didn’t know such thing existed. I thought it was a avocado and put the whole paste inside and yes, I will never forget how I felt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

