Hot Cross Buns

555116_10151307941285810_3493161_n

Hello there!

Have I told you that I love bread? Well, I love bread incredibly much and it is hard for me to imagine life without a good loaf of bread and butter to go along with it.

Every Easter Sunday, I rejoice that Christ has risen but I also sneakily rejoice that the Church gives out free hot cross buns!! One day (far from Easter Sunday), I was craving for these soft spiced hot cross buns and realised that none of the bakeries were selling them. The only way for me have them in front of me was to get off my couch and just get down to making them.

These buns that I made are slightly different from the conventional hot cross buns because I added grated orange zest, chopped apples and an orange glaze over the spiced buns.Β 

Nevertheless, it was a slightly challenging and fun process and the best part of it all was being able to share them with friends and family, watching smilesΒ spread across their tired faces:)


Bread flour, whole wheat flour, salt, cranberries, raisins, brown sugar, all spice powder

Bread flour, whole wheat flour, salt, cranberries, raisins, brown sugar, all spice powder

Add the orange zest. Beautiful colours.

Add the orange zest. Beautiful colours.

Add the yeast mixture to form a dough

Add the yeast mixture to form a dough

Start mixing. Add in spice infused milk.

Start mixing. Add in spice infused milk.

Continue to mix. Add freshly chopped apples.

Continue to mix. Add freshly chopped apples.

75004_10151307939680810_1411136013_n

Making the orange glaze separately

In the meanwhile, cover the dough with a damp cloth and wait for it to rise.

In the meanwhile, cover the dough with a damp cloth and wait for it to rise.

Making the crosses:)

Making the crosses:)

The hot cross buns before they are glazed with egg wash

The hot cross buns before they are glazed with egg wash

Bake bake BAKE

Bake bake BAKE

485923_10151307940970810_1432810388_n

Fresh out of the oven!

Glaze the buns.

Glaze the buns and there you have it! Hot Cross Buns.


P.S.Β  Sorry I can’t provide you with a recipe for this one because I didn’t really use a recipe for these buns. Decided to bake by heart after searching up a couple of recipes on the internet. This method is not always recommended though;) Nevertheless, I urge you to bake whether it is to have fun making a mess or to stay happy and spread the love in the case of success;) !

Cheers,

thedailycognitive

15 thoughts on “Hot Cross Buns

  1. I believe that there are two types of people – those who have food to survive and there are others who survives to have food. I belong to the second category and its nice to see you prepare dishes for us. The so-called-winter in Kolkata, when it is not too hot and humid for those mouth watering dishes is here. We have Kachori stuffed with green peas, all sorts of stuffed parathas, varieties classical rice cakes we call Pithe, and sweets made with khajoor gur (sugar mother liquor with extract from date plant). If you ever come to Kolkata come in November- February and you will like many new dishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sandip! Wow. Thank you for taking the time to write all of that and introduce to me the array of food that is waiting for me at Kolkata! I belong to the second category of people too:) Food has the ability to bring joy to a tired and sad world:) I love the food that you have described to me (sounds so interesting and I especially love stuffed parathas–have been thinking about making them recently actually) and am thankful to have a friend like you who shares the same joys! πŸ™‚
      Have a lovely day ahead!

      Like

    • Hahhaa Ankit! Well these buns are usually served during Easter Sunday. But you know I really like your perspective of how the crosses seem to be protecting the buns:) what you say opens my mind to a whole new interesting insight of these customary buns with regards to Easter Sunday:)
      Thank you for your kind remarks!!:))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

