Dangerous daze

Hi Readers,

We are now heading towards the end of April. This week, I have been thinking quite avidly about an uneasy dinner I once had with a friend of mine.I am not sure if it was just me or whether we both felt that it was slightly uneasy.

I am not very good at reading people.

Sometimes, it gets slightly awkward having dinner in a cozy restaurant with a male friend.

I always avoid long eye contact.

Some people: I can stare right into their eyes and feel absolutely unmoved.

However, when it came to this friend–

I couldn’t maintain eye contact for I feared that I’d

fall a little too deep into an emotional whirlpool.


Here is a quick poem describing the situation.

Painting by pino daeni

Painting by pino daeni

‘Dangerous daze’

You are a table away from me but

A trembling weight in my chest is drawn to your

Warm presence ,oh a traction is gripping–

My eyes fight not to look into yours for fear of

Attachment.

All ears but I tell my heart to turn back,

A painful journey it would be to step

Forward. Spare me:

Serenity is an

Illusion.

Unruly black tresses of hair falling down the sides of my face. Curls that spiral

Down. Engine on headstrong, helmet

Off.


Love,

The Daily Cognitive

One thought on “Dangerous daze

Leave a Reply

