Sullen Sunshine

I do not own any rights to  this painting

I do not own any rights to this painting

Sullen Sunshine

Why do I feel ropes tighten, grow taut and stretch

menacingly across the field of my mind? Pressure

Pounds from the outside, a wretch!

But I seek composure

Through words—

my warm bread and cold butter. Pleasurable bonds

twist and choke, a cosy chill lifts,

Stealthy

sunshine seeps through.

Is it worth to let that light in:  rays

that blind and distract are merely a mirage,

tis’ happiness a belittling

Chime-era.

Love,

The Daily Cognitive

2 thoughts on “Sullen Sunshine

Leave a Reply

